Advance: Home
 


  • SIGMA 10 – Epic XC::16751
  • Technology & Features::16760
  • FAQ::16979
  • Technical Data::16777
  • Colours::16789
  • Downloads::17187
  • Reviews::19656

SIGMA 10 - Epic XC

The SIGMA 10 continues the story of the legendary SIGMA Series. With an aspect ratio of 6.16 and 66 cells the ADVANCE XC flagship is positioned at the centre of the EN/LTF C class. The high-tech sportster combines outstanding performance with sporty dynamic and distinguished colours. The best starting point for epic cross country experiences.
  • Performance benchmark for Sport Class

    The profile of the SIGMA 10 is based on a new technological platform, which completely frees it from its predecessor. One result is an immense leap in performance. The XC Sportster is not only fast; it can also make the most of en-route climbs. Its balanced pitch behaviour, directional stability and good absorption of turbulence even improve its performance in bumpy air.

    The new Sportiness

    The SIGMA 10 delights with its pleasantly spirited handling which allows the pilot to feel the sportiness of the wing. The canopy eagerly grasps a thermal, and the smallest steering input is answered directly and precisely. This playful but effective handling not only allows long distances to be flown without tiredness, but is also your guarantee of much flying fun.

    The Most Modern Features

    The SIGMA 10 includes the very latest performance-enhancing state-of-the-art technologies. Tension and weight optimised Sliced Diagonals ensure perfect load distribution inside the wing, the Advanced Air Scoop for well-mannered stall behaviour, C-Wires for maximal profile shape stability and Miniribs for a clean trailing edge.

  • performing
    sporty
    hightech
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece

Technology & Features

    • 3D Diamond Shaping

      A diagonal term included in the 3D-Shaping number crunching allows for the bunching of wing fabric at sewn seams to be allowed for and minimised – not only for horizontal aerodynamic forces, as before, but now taking vertical profile loads into account as well. This results in a smoother surface at the important leading edge, and, yet again, even better performance.

      Reduced Line Setup

      More cells, fewer lines, more performance: even with seven more cells, compared with the SIGMA 9, the SIGMA 10 has 15 % fewer support points and therefore 11 % less line metres, thanks to the extensive tension and weight optimised Sliced Diagonals. The resulting performance increase is noticeable.

    • Enhanced Speed System

      A two gear speed system allows the SIGMA 10 speedbar loading and travel to be adjusted to suit the individual pilot’s leg length. This is achieved by changing the position at which one pulley’s action is blocked. The Speed Performance Indicator (SPI) provides a visual indication of the current accelerated situation on the polar curve, and C-Handles offer a comfortable means of active flying while accelerated.

      State of the Art Technology

      The most modern, performance-enhancing state-of-the-art technologies were incorporated in the SIGMA 10. Advanced Air Scoop Technology provides good-natured stall behaviour with clearly increasing brake loading as the stall is approached. C-Wires keep the profile in perfect shape, and Miniribs ensure a smooth trailing edge. 

Perfect weight range choice and optimally tuned for weight with a proper small size

The SIGMA 10 size selection was thought of as having Seamless Weight Ranges between 10 and 15 kg steps. Every pilot’s flying weight will find itself within only one ideal takeoff weight range, because these ranges extend seamlessly through the glider sizes, but do not overlap. These SIGMA 10 ideal takeoff weight areas provide the optimal relationship between gliding speed and climb performance for each size in all normal flying conditions, and also take into account the different paraglider size characteristics.

For the first time a Sigma comes out in five sizes, with a proper small size. What we mean is that the SIGMA 10/21 size, 60 - 77 kg takeoff weight range, is not just a scaled down version, but has materials and design features adapted for a small paraglider.

 

 

 

FAQ

Show all / Hide all

fold faq

What is required of a SIGMA 10 pilot?

The ADVANCE Sportster finds itself in the middle of the EN/LTF C class and is suitable for accomplished thermal pilots with cross country experience, who fly actively, understand canopy disturbances and can prevent them at their outset. It goes without saying that the pilot of a sports class paraglider should be competent to carry out the normal fast descent techniques.
When this is the case the outstanding performance potential of the SIGMA 10 can be fully utilised. The pilot will benefit from the high degree of pitch and directional stability – especially in bumpy air. The SIGMA 10 will then feel especially good and reward its pilot with improved performances.

fold faq

What are the differences between SIGMA 10 and SIGMA 9?

The SIGMA 10 is a completely new design. To accompany the many other details the aspect ratio is greater (now 6.16 flat compared with 5.8), there are seven more cells, Mini-Ribs at the trailing edge and C-Wires. The new design resulted in a saving of 11 % line metres. 3D Diamond Shaping produced an even smoother surface over the aerodynamically sensitive leading edge.
The certification is different. The SIGMA 9 was a low end EN/LTF C paraglider – the SIGMA 10 is classified as a middle C so demands a higher standard of piloting.
For comfortable active gliding in accelerated flight the SIGMA 10 has C-Handles. This XC-Sportster also comes out in five sizes with Seamless Weight Ranges instead of the usual four: and it is also available in the new and exclusive ADVANCE “Spectra” serial colour.

fold faq

Which SIGMA 10 size should I choose?

This is an easy one. If you fly in the usual variety of typical conditions your takeoff weight will feature in only one Ideal (Seamless) Weight Range. Decision made!

fold faq

Can I also fly the SIGMA 10 outside the Seamless Weight Ranges?

Absolutely! The Certified Weight Ranges are wider – and overlap as usual. The SIGMA 10 flies very well at either end of its certified ranges. Heavy or light – you have the choice. The ideal weight ranges were introduced to make the decision easy for those many who fly in the normal varied conditions. These ‘seamless’ ideal ranges have no gaps, but do not overlap, so there’s one size for a specific weight. But you are free to make your own choice within the Certified weight ranges.

Flying outside the Seamless weight ranges - in other words near the upper or lower Certified weight limits – can affect flying characteristics and handling, but will not compromise your safety. Glide ratio remains the same, but climb performance will change.

fold faq

Is SIGMA 10 packing difficult?

No, SIGMA 10 packing is easy. It’s much the same as other gliders with Nylon wire leading edges – with one difference, the C-wires. But if you gather the nose wires at the same level and leave them there the C-wires look after themselves. First collect the leading edge cell on cell, one side after the other, then gather the trailing edge, without pulling the leading edge out of alignment.

Fold the left and right folded lanes over into the middle, then one side over the other. Remember to change the centrefold lane sometimes to avoid wear.

Then fold the trailing edge in, on top of the C-wires, which should still be at one level. Fold the leading edge over at the ends of the nose wires – then again over the trailing edge half. That’s it. Don’t compress or pack too tightly – but this is always good paraglider advice.

Have a look at the How to Pack Film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dCZ6EkSXOpk

  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece

Technical Data

SIGMA 10 2123252729
Flat surfacem22122.924.526.428.4
Projected surfacem21819.62122.624.3
Ideal weight rangekg65 - 7575 - 8585 - 9797 - 110110 - 125
Certified takeoff weightkg60 - 7770 - 8880 - 10092 - 114105 - 128
Glider weightkg4.454.754.855.155.45
Spanm11.4011.9012.3012.8013.25
Projected spanm9.109.509.8010.2010.60
Aspect ratio6.166.166.166.166.16
Projected aspect ratio4.64.64.64.64.6
Number of cells6666666666
Number of risers33333
Accelerator travel max.cm1112161718
CertificationEN / LTF D*EN / LTF CEN / LTF CEN / LTF CEN / LTF C

*) D only in the spiral, other manoeuvres EN / LTF C and lower.

  • The SIGMA 10 has very good performance. It is a very versatile and fun wing with good slow flying  qualities; and also very pleasant to fly.

    Yael Margelisch, Flying Instructor, Competition and Acro pilot

  • One of the most interesting paragliders for the current XC season because of its performance, its handling and comfort in flight; and that element of exclusivity found in this Swiss manufacturer’s paragliders.

    Daniel Crespo, Ojovolador

  • Der SIGMA 10 has very good directional, roll and pitch stability. This makes it not only comfortable to fly, but also very effective in turbulent air.

    Patrick von Känel, Test- and Cross Country pilot

  • In thermals the SIGMA 10 can be manoeuvred very precisely because the brake loading rises less steeply at the higher end of the steering range: a clear plus point compared with its predecessor.

    Sergio Waldmeier, Head of Airzone Flying School

Colours

Standard colours
grey
pacific
red
spectra

Special colours
White bottom sail
selected color-code:
White bottom sail
Bottom sail: with this combination only a white bottom sail is possible

Reviews

    • Advance Sigma 10
       

      duration: 1:56, views: 6209

    • ADVANCE Sigma 10
       

      duration: 2:53, views: 3042

    • Advance Sigma 10 , just a quicky
       

      duration: 4:18, views: 1980

    • Advance SIGMA 10 FRONTALS SIV
       

      duration: 5:14, views: 5016

Best flights XContest


 Test the SIGMA 10 
Test the SIGMA 10

Advance: Home
 


  • SIGMA 10 – Epic XC::16793
  • Technologies & caractéristiques::16802
  • FAQ::17058
  • Technique::16819
  • Couleurs::16831
  • Downloads::17190
  • Essais::19661

SIGMA 10 - Epic XC

La SIGMA 10 perpétue l’histoire de la légendaire série des SIGMA. Avec un allongement de 6.16 et 66 cellules, l'aile amirale d’ADVANCE dans le domaine XC se positionne en milieu de classe C. Cette aile sportive haut de gamme allie d’excellentes performances à une dynamique sportive et un design attractif. Toutes les conditions sont donc réunies pour des vols de distance épiques.
  • Une référence en classe Sport, en termes de performances

    Le profil de la SIGMA 10 s’appuie sur une toute nouvelle plateforme technologique qui s’émancipe totalement du modèle précédent. Le gain qui en résulte en termes de performances est remarquable. Non seulement cette aile XC sportive est rapide, mais elle exploite aussi la moindre ascendance en vol droit. Compte tenu de sa grande stabilité, de son excellente tenue de cap et de la manière dont elle amortit les turbulences, elle décuple même ses performances quand l’atmosphère est agitée.

    Une nouvelle sportivité

    La SIGMA 10 suscite l’enthousiasme par son maniement agréablement vif qui permet au pilote de ressentir la sportivité de son aile. Elle est littéralement aspirée par les thermiques et la moindre impulsion sur les freins est convertie de manière précise et directe. Ce maniement ludique assure non seulement un pilotage sans se fatiguer, sur les longues distances, mais garantit aussi un maximum de plaisir en vol.

    Les caractéristiques les plus modernes

    Les technologies «State of the art» les plus modernes qui ont été intégrées dans la SIGMA 10 ont aussi un effet positif sur les performances. Les Sliced Diagonals à la tension et au poids optimisés garantissent une transmission parfaite des forces dans la vie interne, la technologie Advanced Air Scoop lui confère un comportement plus tolérant en décrochage, les C-Wires assurent une stabilité maximale de la forme du profil et les Miniribs un bord de fuite homogène.

  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece

Technologies & caractéristiques

    • 3D Diamond Shaping

      Un agencement en diagonal du 3D-Shaping permet non seulement d’agir sur la rétraction des coutures grâce – comme jusqu’à présent – à des forces aérodynamiques horizontales, mais aussi à une tension qui agit dans la profondeur du profil. Résultat : une voilure encore plus lisse au niveau du bord d’attaque, particulièrement sensible à l’écoulement de l’air, et de meilleures performances.

      Reduced Line Setup

      Plus de cellules, moins de suspentes, plus de performances : malgré sept cellules supplémentaires par rapport au modèle précédent, le nombre de points d’attache a pu être réduit de 15% sur la SIGMA 10, grâce à des sliced diagonals à la tension et au poids optimisés par le biais d’un processus exigeant ; cela a également permis de réduire la longueur totale des suspentes de 11%. Le gain qui en résulte en termes de performances est remarquable.

    • Enhanced Speed System

      Grâce au système à deux phases, l’accélérateur de la SIGMA 10 peut être configuré de manière personnalisée : la force de pression et l’amplitude de l’accélérateur sont alors adaptées à la longueur des jambes du pilote en passant de deux à un renvoi. Le Speed Performance Indicator (SPI) permet par ailleurs de visualiser la polaire, et les poignées sur les élévateurs C assurent un grand confort de pilotage en vol accéléré actif.

      Technologies «state of the art»

      Les technologies «state of the art» les plus modernes qui ont été intégrées dans la SIGMA 10 ont aussi un effet positif sur ses performances. Ainsi, la technologie Advanced Air Scoop lui confère un comportement serein en décrochage, avec une force nécessaire sur les commandes augmentant très nettement à l’approche du point de décrochage. Les C-Wires assurent une stabilité maximale de la forme du profil, et les miniribs un bord de fuite homogène. 

Poids parfaitement adapté, avec une véritable petite taille

La SIGMA 10 a été conçue sur la bases de Seamless Weight Ranges avec des écarts entre 10 et 15 kg. Ces plages permettent une transition en continu d’une taille à l’autre pour chaque poids du corps. Dans cette plage de poids au décollage idéale, la SIGMA 10 fait preuve du meilleur rapport possible entre vitesse de vol et taux ascensionnel, quelles que soient les conditions de vol.

Par ailleurs, et pour la première fois, la SIGMA 10 est disponible en cinq tailles, avec une véritable petite taille. Cela veut dire que la taille 21, avec une plage de poids au décollage de 60 à 77 kg, n’a pas simplement été recalculée à la baisse, mais adaptée aux exigences inhérentes en termes de matériel et de construction.

FAQ

Afficher tout / Cacher tout

répertoire des faq

Quelles sont les exigences de la SIGMA 10 envers le pilote ?

L’aile sportive d’ADVANCE, qui se situe en milieu de classe EN/LTF C, est adaptée aux pilotes de thermique chevronnés qui ont une expérience du vol de distance, pilotent de manière active et anticipent et empêchent tout dysfonctionnement de la calotte avant son apparition. Comme avec toute aile en classe sport, la maîtrise des méthodes de descente rapide courantes va de soi.
Dans ces conditions, il est possible d’exploiter tout l’excellent potentiel de performances de la SIGMA 10. Les pilotes bénéficient d’un équilibre solide et d’une grande stabilité directionnelle, surtout quand l’atmosphère est turbulente. Car c’est justement là que la SIGMA 10 se sent particulièrement à l’aise et brille par encore plus de performances.

répertoire des faq

Quelles sont les différences entre la SIGMA 10 et la SIGMA 9 ?

La SIGMA 10 est une construction entièrement nouvelle, ce qu’on constate entre autres en termes d’allongement (6.16 à plat, désormais, par rapport à 5.8), sept cellules supplémentaires, des Miniribs au niveau du bord de fuite et des C-Wires. Cette construction a aussi permis de réduire la longueur totale des suspentes de 11%. Le 3D Diamond Shaping, utilisé pour la première fois ici au niveau du bord d’attaque, sensible à l’écoulement de l’air, assure une voilure encore plus lisse.
Contrairement à la SIGMA 9, qui se situait en bas de la classe EN/LTF C, la SIGMA 10 est une aile qui se positionne en milieu de la classe EN/LTF C et les exigences envers le pilote sont donc plus importantes.
Pour un planer confortable et actif en vol accéléré, les élévateurs C de la SIGMA 10 ont été équipés de poignées. De plus, la SIGMA 10, conçue sur la base de Seamless Weight Ranges, est disponible en cinq tailles au lieu de quatre, avec une nouvelle couleur ADVANCE exclusive, « Spectra ».

répertoire des faq

Quelle taille de SIGMA 10 choisir ?

Quand tu voles dans différentes conditions, il te faut choisir précisément la taille dans la plage de poids idéale qui correspond à ton poids au décollage.

répertoire des faq

Est-ce que je peux voler avec la SIGMA 10 en-dehors des Seamless Weight Ranges ?

Bien sûr ! Les plages de poids homologuées sont étendues, ce qui veut dire qu’elles se recoupent. Dans ces plages aussi, la SIGMA 10 vole parfaitement. Les plages de poids idéales n’ont été définies que pour faciliter le choix du pilote concernant la bonne taille. Grâce à une transition en continue d’une plage à l’autre, l’hésitation entre une taille « ou » une autre fait place à « C’est précisément cette taille ».
Voler hors des Seamless Weight Ranges, soit à la limite inférieure ou supérieure du poids indiqué, peut avoir une influence sur le comportement en vol et le maniement de l’aile, sans pour autant avoir un impact sur la sécurité. La finesse reste la même sur toute la plage de poids, mais les performances ascensionnelles changent.

répertoire des faq

La SIGMA 10 exige-t-elle un pliage spécifique ?

Non, la SIGMA 10 est facile à plier. On ramasse d’abord les cellules d’un côté de l’aile et depuis le milieu, au niveau du bord d’attaque, puis on recommence, toujours depuis le milieu, avec l’autre côté. Il faut alors veiller à ce que les Rigid Foils du bord d’attaque soient bien posés à plat les uns sur les autres et, surtout, à la même hauteur. Les C-Wires se retrouvent ainsi tous au même niveau (ce qui est important pour la suite). On procède ensuite de la même manière avec le bord de fuite. Compte tenu de la forme elliptique de l’aile, les cellules du bord de fuite ne se trouvent alors plus à la même hauteur, mais se réduisent en direction des oreilles.
Les bandes droite et gauche sont ensuite rabattues vers l’intérieur et le milieu, puis repliées. En décalant régulièrement le pliage autour du milieu, on ne sollicite pas toujours les mêmes bandes.
L’aile ainsi pliée à la largeur du sac de protection est ensuite repliée comme d’habitude. On replie d’abord le bord de fuite jusqu’au niveau des C-Wires, puis on rabat le bord d’attaque, avec un pli sous les Rigid Foils, avant de finir par rabattre la partie inférieure par-dessus le bord d’attaque. Comme pour tous les parapentes, il faut éviter un pliage trop comprimé ou trop étroit.

Voir le film "how to pack a SIGMA 10" : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_f3hgzclMg

  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece

Technique

  • SIGMA 10 2123252729
    Surface à platm22122.924.526.428.4
    Surface projetéem21819.62122.624.3
    Plage de poids idéalekg65 - 7575 - 8585 - 9797 - 110110 - 125
    Poids de décollagekg60 - 7770 - 8880 - 10092 - 114105 - 128
    Poids de l'ailekg4.454.754.855.155.45
    Envergurem11.4011.9012.3012.8013.25
    Envergure projetéem9.109.509.8010.2010.60
    Allongement6.166.166.166.166.16
    Allongement projeté4.64.64.64.64.6
    Corde maximumm2.302.432.482.582.67
    Caissons6666666666
    Nombre d élévateurs33333
    Débattement de l'accélérateur max.cm1112161718
    HomologationEN / LTF D*EN / LTF CEN / LTF CEN / LTF CEN / LTF C
  • Bord d'attaque Porcher Sport Skytex 38 universal
    Extrados Porcher Sport Skytex 32 universal
    Intrados Porcher Sport Skytex 32 universal
    Filet Porcher Sport Skytex 32 universal
    Profiles suspentés Porcher Sport Skytex 40 hard finish
    Profiles non suspentés Porcher Sport Skytex 32 hard finish
    Suspentes principales Edelrid A-8000U-230/190/130/090
    Gallerie Edelrid A-8000U-130/090/070/050
    Freins Edelrid A-8000U-050/070/190
    Commandes Edelrid A-7850-240
    Elevateurs Liros Polyester/Technora 13mm, 850daN
    Maillons Peguet MR Delta 3.5mm / S12
    • COMFORTPACK 3
    • Inner Bag
    • Compression Strap
    • Repair-Kit
    • Mini-Windsock
    • Getting started Booklet
  • La SIGMA 10 est très performante. Une aile très polyvalente et ludique avec de bonnes qualités en vol lent, qui est en plus très agréable à piloter.

    Yael Margelisch, instructrice de vol libre, pilote de compétition et d'acro

  • Une des ailes les plus intéressantes pour la saison XC actuelle – grâce à ses performances, à son maniement et à son confort en vol, mais aussi à ce soupçon d’exclusivité inhérent à ce produit suisse.

    Daniel Crespo, Ojovolador

  • La SIGMA 10 fait preuve d’une excellente tenue de cap et d’une grande stabilité, ce qui la rend d’une part très agréable à piloter, mais aussi très efficace en atmosphère turbulente.

    Patrick von Känel, pilote d’essai et de vol de distance

  • La faible pression sur les commandes en haut du débattement permet de piloter très précisément la SIGMA 10 dans les thermiques, ce qui est clairement un plus par rapport au modèle précédent.

    Sergio Waldmeier, directeur de l’école de vol  Airzone

Couleurs

Couleurs standard
grey
pacific
red
spectra

Couleurs spéciales
Intrados blanc
selected color-code:
Intrados blanc
Intrados : avec cette combination seulement un intrados blanc est possible

Downloads

    • Aucun produit sélectionné.

      Essais

        • Advance may well have produced their best glider of all time!

          Pat Dower,
          Cross Country, Edition 183

        • Et le résultat est sans appel: la SIGMA 10 est hyper performante en montée.

          Cédric Nieddu,
          Parapente Mag, no 172

        • Même dans des conditions tordues, cette aile de classe sport donne l’impression qu’elle garde le contrôle - à tout moment.

          Franz Sailer,
          Magazine Thermik, numéro de juillet 2017

        • Prix d`exellence en classe XC !

          Jean-Gabriel Thillard, Parapente +, September-October 2017

        • Advance SIGMA 10 (Paraglider Review) - Flybubble Paragliding
           

          duration: 4:51, views: 9498

        • Sigma 10 nice flight - Horst Friedmann
           

          duration: 17:39, views: 4144

        • Parapente test Advance Sigma 10 - Lolo Bird
           

          duration: 17:29, views: 3104

        • Vol Biv - paragliding from Italy to Slovenia and back - Kurosch Borhanian
           

          duration: 4:21, views: 1380

        • Advance Sigma 10 Low Save - upnupnup
           

          duration: 4:24, views: 3686

        • ADVANCE SIGMA 10 ANNECY 5 5 17 - kaly boy
           

          duration: 9:39, views: 5023

        • Advance Sigma 10 - Philip Brugger
           

          duration: 1:56, views: 7388

        • ADVANCE Sigma 10 - Gomez04100
           

          duration: 2:53, views: 4035

        • Advance Sigma 10 , just a quicky - upnupnup
           

          duration: 4:18, views: 2476

        • Advance SIGMA 10 FRONTALS SIV
           

          duration: 5:14, views: 7644

      Vols XContest


       Essai de la SIGMA 10 
      Essai de la SIGMA 10
      Sign Up for ADVANCE Newsletter