Advance: Home
 


  • EPSILON 8::11592
  • Technology & Features::11822
  • FAQ::11837
  • Technical Data::11600
  • Downloads::11604
  • Colors::11607
  • Reviews::13746

EPSILON 8 - True Friendship

Perfectly balanced with unmistakeable looks. The new EPSILON 8 conveys a distinctive feel-good factor and glows with an ideal mix of precision, performance and safety. Unique quality and an innovative inner life transform this ADVANCE classic into a robust lightweight. Enjoy the spellbinding experience of flying the EPSILON 8 – true friendship awaits.
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Relax and enjoy the thermals

    The EPSILON 8 demonstrates a very successful combination of pitch and turn behaviour. Steering demands are answered directly and precisely. The EPSILON 8’s compact and stable canopy invites plenty of confidence from the beginning. Even in challenging conditions pilots feel calm and content, able to enjoy the thermals in a relaxed frame of mind.

  • comfortable
  • Long life thanks to a unique high quality light structure

    Not just very light, but downright robust as well: the EPSILON 8 gets attention with its unique choice of materials. Upper and lower surfaces are made of the normal strong European Porcher cloth. Inside the wing the latest technology from the OMEGA XALPS comes into play. Thus the EPSILON 8 weighs almost as little as a light wing, and even so has a long lifespan.

  • light & strong
  • Modern technology delivers great performance

    Many performance-enhancing new technologies are featured in the EPSILON 8. It was designed as a three-liner but has only one gallery level. This skimps on line metres and reduces drag. Precisely computed double-3D-shaping provides a super-smooth surface in the critical nose area, and supports the correct shape of the real-life profile.

  • high performance

Technology & Features

  • Sliced Diagonals: X-Alps research

    There are sliced diagonals inside the EPSILON 8 wing. This technology, created first by ADVANCE for the sensational OMEGA XALPS, minimises the area of cloth required for the diagonals, without compromising life or strength. The Ripstop yarn in each strip is exactly aligned along the local tension vector: this maintains canopy shape over a long lifetime.

  • Safer with a deeper airflow breakaway point

    Modern “Air Scoop Technology’ at the leading edge now applies to the EPSILON 8. Combined with the typical ADVANCE semi-circular intakes this feature results in a significantly lower separation point with clearly progressive brake loading. Brake travel is 15 % longer than the EPSILON 7 value, so passive safety is enhanced.

  • “Easy Connect System” for safer hook in

    The EPSILON 8 risers have a new Easy Connect System, which helps the pilot hook in correctly by using a coloured marking system. This reduces the probability of the nervous beginner connecting a twisted riser, or attaching the risers to the wrong carabiners. For maximum compatibility among ADVANCE products the same coloured markings will also apply, in future, to all ADVANCE harness.

  • Big Ear system with “Quick Snap”

    Big ears made easy. The EPSILON 8 outer A-line has its own easilyreachable riser, making it easy to pull effective big ears. Taking off with both A-risers in hand is also simplified by the “Quick-Snap” magnet system which holds them together on the ground. Line sorting remains child’s play. After pull up the risers separate and take up their flying position.

How to fly 100 km? You don't need a high-performance hotship. You don't need to take crazy risks. You just need commitment, a little faith, and a wing you trust.

Greg Hamerton, Flybubble Paragliding

FAQ

Show all / Hide all

fold faq

Who is the EPSILON 8 intended for?

The EPSILON 8 is the ADVANCE thermaling wing, and was developed for improvers and recreational pilots to have thermal flying fun. Climbing up, gathering above the takeoff and setting off on first cross country exploits becomes child’s play with the EPSILON 8. An enormous performance potential means that experienced pilots, who value simplicity and maximum safety, can also fly 300 km or more with an EPSILON 8. A stable and very compact canopy ensures that pilots feel completely secure and comfortable under the EPSILON 8, even in challenging conditions. Thermals can be enjoyed to the full.

fold faq

Where does the EPSILON 8 fit in the ADVANCE range of models?

The EPSILON 8 takes the place of the previous Epsilon. This means that, as a basic-intermediate, it is positioned perfectly between the beginner’s ALPHA 6 and the high end EN B IOTA cross country wing.

fold faq

What are the differences between the EPSILON 8 and the Epsilon 7?

Enhanced feel-good factor
The EPSILON 8 is even better balanced and coordinated in its pitching and turning behaviour, resulting in very direct handling and reassuringly precise response to steering demands. These qualities contribute significantly to this basic-intermediate pilot’s sense of well-being in the air.

650 gms less weight
ADVANCE careful design and high quality lightweight construction saves around 650 gms for the EPSILON 8, depending on the size.

20% less line length
Even though, like its predecessor, the EPSILON 8 is also a three-liner, a new line concept has made possible a saving of 20% line metres. This massive reduction of line used, combined with the airflow advantages of double-3D-shaping at the leading edge, results in a marked performance advantage over the Epsilon 7, and very high performance for this class.

Airscoop Technology
Airscoop technology and characteristic ADVANCE semi-circular air intakes make the most of internal wing pressure, and this enables a high angle of attack to be sustained for longer. In practice this contributes to a 15% lower stall point with clearly progressive brake loading.

With Easy Connect and Quick Snap Systems
The EPSILON 8’s “Easy Connect” markings for safer clipping-in, and the big ear “Quick Snap” system have made great improvements to riser handling. These especially help a pilot in potentially stressful pre-takeoff situations. See Description of Features.

fold faq

How can the EPSILON 8 be so light compared with other paragliders which also use standard wing fabric?

At 4.45 kg for size 25 the EPSILON 8 is virtually a light glider for its class - though its top and bottom wing surfaces do not call for lightweight cloth – in fact European manufacturer Skytex robust 38g Universal cloth is used! EPSILON 8 weight reduction comes from the inside, with “Sliced Diagonal” technology. These innovative diagonal Ripstop strips are a direct result of the OMEGA XALPS project. The yarns of each Ripstop strip are exactly aligned with the local tension force: this maintains canopy shape and provides a long-lived wing.

fold faq

Which size EPSILON 8 should I choose?

EPSILON 8 sizes have become smaller than previous Epsilons. ADVANCE take into account the simple fact that equipment is becoming lighter – and personal takeoff weights are reducing – just a bit. Each EPSILON 8 size has a 10 to 15 kg extended weight range, which widens the area of use, quite a lot. For a dynamic wing you would probably prefer a size that puts you in the extended weight range (high wing loading). For best climbing performance you should consider being somewhere in the recommended range (medium wing loading).

  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland

Technical Data

  • EPSILON 8 23252729
    Flat surfacem222.525.027.029.0
    Projected surfacem218.921.022.724.4
    Recommended takeoff weightkg55-7570-9080-10595-125
    Increased takeoff weightkg75-8590-100105-120125-140
    Glider weightkg4.154.454.955.15
    Spanm10.7511.3511.8012.25
    Projected spanm8.258.709.059.35
    Aspect ratio5.155.155.155.15
    Projected aspect ratio3.603.603.603.60
    Number of cells45454545
    Number of risers3+13+13+13+1
    CertificationEN/LTF BEN/LTF BEN/LTF BEN/LTF B
    Accelerator travel max.cm14.515.516.016.5
  • Leading edge Porcher Sport Skytex 38 Universal
    Upper surface Porcher Sport Skytex 38 Universal
    Lower surface Porcher Sport Skytex easyfly
    Designstripe Porcher Sport Skytex 38 Universal
    Profile line Porcher Sport Skytex 40 hard finish
    Profile without line Porcher Sport Skytex 40 hard finish
    Steering line Liros DFL 115
    Edelrid A-7850-240
    brake lines Liros DSL 070
    main lines Edelrid A-7343-340/280/230/090
    galery lines Edelrid A-8000U-190/130/090/050
    Risers Polyester / Technora 13 mm
    Carabiner Peguet for strap 12mm, SS (#30017)

The weight of the wing can vary by up to 100g due to unavoidable manufactured fluctuations in the density of such light fabric.

Despite the good “sensitivity” of the wing everything points to a generally mild extreme flight behaviour; perfectly suited to the Basic Intermediate segment

Franz Altmann, Thermik Magazine test report

Colours

Standard colours
orange
aubergine
lime
pacific

Special colours
White bottom sail
selected color-code:
White bottom sail
Bottom sail: with this combination only a white bottom sail is possible

Reviews

    • The Epsilon 8 is a wonderful wing! It is easy and instinctive to fly, almost turns by itself and, despite huge pitch damping is very manoeuvrable – this makes it really good fun.”

      Franz Altmann,
      Thermik Magazine, Edition 5_2016
      Review PDF

    • This eighth generation of the EPSILON line demonstrates even more simplicity in use, and more genuinely flyable performance than ever.

      Cédric Nieddu,
      Parapente Mag, no 165

    • The EPSILON 8 has to feature in the choice of a second level wing when you consider its combination of passive safety, uncritical acceptance of piloting skills, and a rewarding ability to both climb and glide.

      Jean-Gabriel Thillard,
      Parapente+, no 448

    • The Epsilon 8 is a recreational 'mid' EN B wing, intended for pilots with a year or more of flying experience but who still want security and simplicity in their flying.

      Greg Hamerton, Flybubble
      Link Review

    • It’s a great wing to suit a wide variety of the public, and is very easy to fly.

      Chris Geist, Paragliding Academy, DHV certified SIV centre
      Link Review

    • The EPSILON 8 has everything a low B pilot wishes. From a nice handling to a comfortable ride in turbulence and a good glide angle to begin cross country safely.

      Ziad Bassil,
      Dust of the universe
      Link Review

    • Advance EPSILON 8 (Paraglider Review)
       

      duration: 5:0, views: 11563

    • Advance Epsilon 8 - erste Eindrücke & Testflüge
       

      duration: 2:2, views: 9634

    • Advance Epsilon8 Testflug Gardasee
       

      duration: 4:34, views: 11700

    • ADVANCE EPSILON 8 - first flight
       

      duration: 5:9, views: 3638

    • Epsilon 8 SIV 2016
       

      duration: 8:21, views: 4561


 Test the EPSILON 8 
Test the EPSILON 8
Advance
Become an ADVANCE-Facebook Fan
Don't show again

Advance: Home
 


  • EPSILON 8::10430
  • Technologien & Features::11737
  • FAQ::11805
  • Technische Daten::10306
  • Downloads::10303
  • Colors::11120
  • Reviews::13743

EPSILON 8 - True Friendship

Perfekt ausbalanciert und mit unverkennbarer Ästhetik. Der neue EPSILON 8 verfügt über einen ausgeprägten Wohlfühlfaktor und glänzt durch eine ideale Mischung aus Präzision, Leistung und Sicherheit. Einzigartige Qualität und ein intelligentes Innenleben verwandeln den ADVANCE Klassiker in ein robustes Leichtgewicht. Geniesse das faszinierende Flugerlebnis mit dem EPSILON 8 – wahre Freundschaft eben.
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich  // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Entspannt die Thermik geniessen

    Der EPSILON 8 verfügt über eine sehr gelungene Kombination aus Pitch- und Drehverhalten. Steuerimpulse werden direkt und präzise umgesetzt. In Verbindung mit einer höchst kompakten und stabilen Kappe fühlen sich Piloten so auch bei anspruchsvollen Flugbedingungen sehr wohl und können entspannt die Thermik geniessen.

  • komfortabel
  • Langlebig dank einzigartigem Materialmix

    Nicht nur sehr leicht, sondern auch ausgesprochen robust: Der
    EPSILON 8 überzeugt durch einen einzigartigen Materialmix. Ober- und Untersegel sind aus robustem europäischem Porcher Tuch gefertigt. Im Innenleben kommen neueste Technologien aus dem OMEGA XALPS zum Einsatz. Dadurch wiegt der EPSILON 8 fast so wenig wie ein Leichtschirm und weist trotzdem eine hohe Langlebigkeit auf.

  • leicht & robust
  • Bessere Leistung durch innovative Technologien

    Im EPSILON 8 kommen zahlreiche leistungssteigernde Technologien zum Einsatz. So wurde er als Hybrid 3-Leiner konstruiert und verfügt über lediglich eine Leinenvergabelung. Das spart Leinenmeter,  wodurch sich der Luftwiderstand reduziert. Ein exakt verarbeitetes Doppel-3D-Shaping sorgt ausserdem für ein glattes Profil im empfindlichen Nasenbereich und erhöht die Formtreue des Profils.

  • leistungsstark

Technologien & Features

  • Sliced Diagonals: das X-Alps Gen

    Im Innenleben kommen beim EPSILON 8 Sliced Diagonals zum Einsatz. Diese Technologie, die ADVANCE erstmals für den OMEGA XALPS geschaffen hat, minimiert den Stoffeinsatz bei den Diagonalen, ohne dabei an Robustheit einzubüssen. Denn das Ripstopgewebe jedes einzelnen Streifens ist exakt in Zugrichtung ausgerichtet: für eine formtreue und robuste Kappe über lange Zeiträume.

  • Bedingungslos sicher dank tieferem Abreisspunkt

    Die moderne „Air Scoop Technology“ an der Eintrittskante kommt nun auch beim EPSILON 8 zum Einsatz. In Kombination mit den ADVANCE typischen halbrunden Zellöffnungen resultiert ein signifikant tieferer Abreisspunkt mit deutlich progressiven Steuerkräften. Die Bremswege sind um 15 % länger als beim Vorgänger, was die passive Sicherheit weiter erhöht.

  • Sicher verbunden dank dem "Easy Connect System"

    Neu ist an den Tragegurten des EPSILON 8 das Easy Connect System, welches den Piloten mittels farblichen Markierungen beim korrekten Einhängen der Tragegurte unterstützt. Damit er diese in anfänglichen Stresssituationen vor dem Start nicht verdreht oder sogar seitenvertauscht einhängt. Für maximale Kompatibilität unter ADVANCE Produkten werden künftig dieselben farbigen Markierungen auch auf den Einhängepunkten aller ADVANCE Gurtzeugen angebracht.

  • Ohrenanlegesystem mit „Quick Snap“

    Ohrenanlegen leicht gemacht. Die Tragegurte des EPSILON 8 ermöglichen einfaches und effizientes Ohrenanlegen über einen separierten, gut erreichbaren A-Gurt. Da sich der EPSILON 8 am einfachsten über allen A-Leinen startet, verbindet das „Quick-Snap“ Magnet am Boden die beiden A-Gurte. So bleibt das Leinensortieren ein Kinderspiel. Nach dem Start lösen sich die Gurte und nehmen unter Zug automatisch ihre Position ein.

FAQ

Alle anzeigen / Alle verbergen

Antwort auf/zuklappen

An wen richtet sich der EPSILON 8?

Der EPSILON 8 ist „der“ ADVANCE Thermikflügel und wurde für Aufsteiger und Genusspiloten entwickelt, die Spass am Thermikfliegen haben. Den Startplatz überhöhen und erste Streckenflugerfahrungen sammeln, das ist mit dem EPSILON 8 ein Kinderspiel. Aufgrund des enormen Leistungspotentials können erfahrene Piloten, die Wert auf maximale Einfachheit und Sicherheit legen, jedoch mit dem EPSILON 8 auch 300 km oder mehr fliegen. Dank seiner stabilen und äusserst kompakten Kappe fühlen sich Piloten auch in anspruchsvollen Verhältnissen unter dem EPSILON 8 rundum sicher und wohl. So können sie die Thermik in vollen Zügen geniessen.

Antwort auf/zuklappen

Wo reiht sich der EPSILON 8 innerhalb der ADVANCE Palette ein?

Der EPSILON 8 ist auf das gleiche Zielpublikum zugeschnitten wie seine Vorgänger. Das heisst, er positioniert sich als Basis-Intermediate perfekt zwischen dem Einsteigerschirm ALPHA 6 und dem High Level EN B Streckenflugschirm IOTA.

Antwort auf/zuklappen

Was sind die Unterschiede des EPSILON 8 im Vergleich zum Vorgänger EPSILON 7?

Erhöhter Wohlfühlfaktor
Der EPSILON 8 ist in seinem Pitch- und Drehverhalten noch ausgewogener als der EPSILON 7. Dadurch verfügt er über ein äusserst direktes Handling und setzt Steuerimpulse sehr präzise um. Dies trägt massgeblich zum ausgeprägten Wohlfühlfaktor dieses Basis-Intermediate bei.

Gewichtsreduktion um 650 g
Dank der ADVANCE Qualitätsleichtbauweise ist der EPSILON 8 gegenüber dem Vorgänger um, je nach Grösse, bis zu 650 g leichter geworden

Reduktion der Leinenlänge um 20%
Obwohl der EPSILON 8, wie sein Vorgänger auch, ein Dreileiner mit nur einer Leinenvergabelung ist, konnten dank des neuen Leinenkonzepts 20% an Leinenmeter eingespart werden. Aus dieser massiven Reduktion der Leinenmeter gepaart mit dem implementierten Double-3D-Shaping im Bereich der Eintrittskante resultiert ein markanter Leistungssprung gegenüber dem Vorgänger und eine sehr hohe Leistung für diese Schirmklasse

Mit Airscoop Technologie
Die Airscoop Technologie in Kombination mit den ADVANCE typischen halbrunden Zellöffnungen optimiert den Innendruck, der so auch bei hohen Anstellwinkeln länger erhalten bleibt. In der Praxis führt das zu einem um 15 % tieferen Abrisspunkt mit deutlich progressiven Steuerkräften.

Mit Easy Connect und Quick Snap System
Das Tragegurtehandling beim EPSILON 8 konnte dank „Easy Connect“ für sicheres Einhängen und dank dem Ohrenanlegesystem mit „Quick Snap“ deutlich verbessert werden. Insbesondere in Stresssituationen wird der Pilot bestmöglich unterstützt. Siehe Beschrieb der Features.

Antwort auf/zuklappen

Warum ist der EPSILON 8 im Vergleich zu anderen Gleitschirmen aus Standard-Tuch so leicht?

Mit 4,45 kg in Grösse 25 ist der EPSILON 8 praktisch so leicht wie ein Leichtschirm der gleichen Klasse. Und das, obwohl am Ober- und Untersegel bewusst auf leichtes Tuch verzichtet wurde und das robuste 38g Universal Skytex Tuch vom europäischen Hersteller Porcher zum Einsatz kommt! Die Gewichtsersparnis verdankt der EPSILON 8 der „Sliced Diagonal“ Technologie im Innenleben. Diese innovativen Diagonalrippen aus Ripstopstreifen wurden direkt vom OMEGA XALPS übernommen. Dabei ist das Ripstopgewebe jedes einzelnen Streifens exakt in Zugrichtung ausgerichtet: für eine formtreue und robuste Kappe über lange Zeiträume.

Antwort auf/zuklappen

Welche Grösse soll ich beim EPSILON 8 wählen?

Die Grössen des EPSILON 8 sind im Vergleich zu seinem Vorgänger kleiner geworden. Damit trägt ADVANCE der Tatsache Rechnung, dass die Ausrüstung immer leichter – und damit auch das Startgewicht immer geringer – wird. Der EPSILON 8 verfügt zudem in jeder Grösse über einen um 10 kg bzw. 15 kg erweiterten Gewichtsbereich, welcher den Einsatzbereich des Produktes deutlich erhöht. Wer einen dynamischeren Schirm möchte, wählt seine Grösse im erweiterten Gewichtsbereich (hohe Flächenbelastung). Wer das bestmögliche Steigen will, orientiert sich im empfohlenen Gewichtsbereich (mittlere Flächenbelastung).

  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland
  • Picture: Thomas Ulrich // Location: Interlaken, Switzerland

Technische Daten

  • EPSILON 8 23252729
    Fläche ausgelegtm222.525.027.029.0
    Fläche projiziertm218.921.022.724.4
    Empfohlenes Startgewichtkg55-7570-9080-10595-125
    Erweiterter Gewichtsbereichkg75-8590-100105-120125-140
    Gewicht Schirmkg4.154.454.955.15
    Spannweite ausgelegtm10.7511.3511.8012.25
    Spannweite projiziertm8.258.709.059.35
    Streckung ausgelegt5.155.155.155.15
    Streckung projiziert3.603.603.603.60
    Anzahl Zellen45454545
    Anzahl Tragegurte3+13+13+13+1
    ZulassungEN/LTF BEN/LTF BEN/LTF BEN/LTF B
    Max. Beschleunigerwegcm14.515.516.016.5
  • Eintrittskante Porcher Sport Skytex 38 Universal
    Obersegel Porcher Sport Skytex 38 Universal
    Untersegel Porcher Sport Skytex easyfly
    Designstreifen Porcher Sport Skytex 38 Universal
    Zellwände Porcher Sport Skytex 40 hard finish
    Zellzwischenwände Porcher Sport Skytex 40 hard finish
    Steuerleine Liros DFL 115
    Edelrid A-7850-240
    Bremsleinen Liros DSL 070
    Stammleinen Edelrid A-7343-340/280/230/090
    Gallerieleinen Edelrid A-8000U-190/130/090/050
    Tragegurte Polyester / Technora 13 mm
    Leinenschloss Peguet for strap 12mm, SS (#30017)

Colors

Standardfarben
orange
aubergine
lime
pacific

Sonderfarben
weisses Untersegel
selected color-code:
weisses Untersegel
Untersegel: Mit dieser Farbkombination ist nur ein weisses Untersegel möglich

Reviews


 EPSILON 8 testen 
EPSILON 8 testen
Advance
Werde ADVANCE-Facebook Fan
Nicht mehr anzeigen